Torchlight is incredible

So having never played Diablo or anything similar, when I downloaded Torchlight on XBLA I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I knew there were dungeons, and I knew there was loot, and I knew the game was on sale. About an hour into it, I realized that while I liked the game, it was never going to progress beyond this first little town. And deep though it may be, I was also only getting one dungeon.

Or was I?

It wasn’t much longer before I ran into one of my favorite entries in the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons Monstrous Manual, the always-entertaining Phase Beast. Upon its inevitable death, the Phase Beast dropped not a pair of 200lb spiked boots or an ornate flintlock pistol, but a portal. I was jamming A as one does to pick up loot indiscriminately, little knowing my mind was about to be blown.

Suddenly, I was in another dungeon.

whaaaaaaat?

Apparently Runic Games heard I like dungeon crawling, ’cause they straight up put a little dungeon inside my dungeon, so I could grind while I loot. In addition to Phase Beasting, you can also buy or find map scrolls that open portals into similar mini dungeons.

Yes, I realize it’s still all basically the same dungeon. But that doesn’t change the fact that I was thrilled to be presented with an infinite dungeon upon finishing the 35-or-so floor main dungeon. Or that I was delighted to learn that while I beat the game by level 30 or so, the cap is 100. I’m pretty content to grind for low-level equipment upgrade gems that can be combined what feels like infinite times into higher level gems that I might not even use. And I wasn’t even deterred when instead of finding the second piece of that unique 5-part armor set I wanted, I found the same part I already had, just with slightly better stats because you will invariably increase 5 levels or so between finding them.

The lack of multiplayer is the only real downside. And while it is admittedly a huge downside, it’s currently serving more as a life lesson on why I can never own a PC capable of running World of Warcraft. This game has about three shops and a set of stairs that go straight down, and as far as I can tell I’m going to be playing it until the end of time.

Or until Torchlight 2.

About Ryan Searles

I like watching movies, and then talking about those movies. Sometimes I write things about them, which you should read. Other interests include boxed wine, video games, the works of Harlan Ellison and HG Wells, and being a general curmudgeon.

Posted on July 9, 2011, in Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

