Roku is My Friend

It began last November, when I received a surprising gift from my brother.  I unwrapped the gift, having not a clue as to its contents.  Behold, the best friend to someone who wants to stream internet content to their television.  I give you Roku.

Wireless not pictured

Before having hooked up the Roku, I considered the fact that our Xbox 360 was nearly three years old, and doubled as primary player for Netflix and new television via Zune Marketplace.  I quickly appreciated the wear and tear my new Roku player would prevent on my aging, notoriously unreliable gaming device.  The Roku XD (my particular model) is a small device, and it fit easily into my entertainment stand.  It will not, however, be easily removed from its reign as my most used gadget to watch television, movies, and internet programming.

Roku is not only sleek, but it delivers your precious content as well.  Netflix, Hulu Plus, and Amazon Instant are some names you should recognize.  Crackle, EpixHD, and Leo Laporte’s TWiT network are also available as “Channels”.    As a baseball fan, wouldn’t I be missing tense, pennant race baseball? Nope, Roku has my back again with the MLB.tv channel (MLB.tv subscription sold separately) These staples of my viewing, along with hundreds of other choices, leave me with more to watch than anyone should frankly, have time for.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, I certainly don’t regret “cutting the cord”, and that Roku has turned out to be one of the coolest gifts I’ve ever received.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in Gadgets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Not sure if you saw, but Roku recently announced their Roku2 devices. Same price points as the classic Roku, but apparently with enhanced abilities…? The only issue I saw with it is that according to the “feature chart” the Roku2 lacks an ethernet port on any but the most expensive version, so if you lack wireless, you have to shell out the $99.99 for the top-of-the-line model.

  1. Pingback: Can’t Wait for Deep Space Nine to come to Netflix? « A Nerd Occurrence

Leave a Reply

