This is Madness!

Let’s talk games shall we?  There have been several of my esteemed partners in Occurrency that have written about them already.  Even I did.  Kind of.  I off handedly said WoW was better than Rift or something like that, but if you read deeper it says so much more.  Now then let’s get past that, alright?  Good.  Now then, I like games, you like games, we all like games.  The fun kind, not the kind that involve the fairer sex and end with one person having a severe case of the “WTF’s”.  But if you are like me you have a limited budget upon which to purchase, support, and play said games.  So when one of these Free-to-play games comes along I tend to give it a small benefit of the doubt.  Enter:  Realm of the Mad God.

 

 

One of my closest friends is an evil mastermind, if you know him then you know what I’m talking about.  If you don’t then let me just assure you, he is.  He’s talked me into purchasing and playing games from Call of Duty to Hellgate: London to Minecraft.  I’ve loved each and every one along the way mind you, this is the mastermind part.  He does this and then you have a good time, how can you ever be mad?  So when he beckons me over to check out another game I’ve not heard about I can already feel my wallet puckering in anticipation of the gutting it is about to receive.  Occasionally he finds one of these games (the one before this was Desktop Dungeon, also a must play) that are free and so endlessly addicting and fun that I’m late for work because of them.

A deeply fun, simple, addictive, and retro game from the wonderful people at Wild Shadow Studios; Realm of the Mad God is quick to pick up, hard to put down.  Simple enough, you play an adventurer in a world where some crazy evil old god has decided he’s in charge of everything and you’ve got to prove to him that no, in fact, he isn’t.  The controls are simple, using the keyboard to move around and perform rudimentary magic, and the mouse acts as both trigger and crosshairs for the array of ranged weapons you’ll wield as you smash and grab your way through the various areas.  Combat is simple, aim, click, fire.  Did you kill it?  If not try again, if you did move on and find something else.  Rinse, repeat.

The challenge in the game is in unlocking all the different classes.  You start with just the one available to you, a new one is unlocked when you reach level five.  And so progression goes for a time.  You continue on until the pixellated masses overwhelm you and you die, at which point you make a new character, likely of the new class you unlocked along the way.  When all the basics are unlocked the challenge becomes getting not to level five, but level twenty with the classes.  Trial and error, and a bit of luck are required to make it that far.  If you’re lucky enough to be out running and gunning when an area’s end boss guardians are killed a portal is opened right to the Mad God himself.  Be warned, he eats lowbies for breakfast.

I’ve been playing this game off and on now for over a month, and I don’t see an end close.  The game is constantly updated with new content, the challenge is still fresh and interesting enough to keep me coming back, and it makes for a perfect way to pass the time while you’re waiting for something to load on Netflix, or for a patch to download, or for your instructor to quit boring you with another lesson on … well I wasn’t paying much attention really.  I wholly recommend this one, give it a look.  You can play without signing up or registering at the site, just hop on and go.  Or you can sign up and still play for free but keep track of your progress and history in the game.  Its a madhouse.  And I’ll see you there.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on August 24, 2011, in MMOs, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s crazy how easy to get started that is. It’s like half a sign-up page, click, GO!

    I can definitely see the appeal, but it’s hard for me to get past the WASD controls crossed with the pseudo isometric view. Maybe that’s just me.

    I certainly had not heard of it until now. And that… just happened.

    at A Nerd Occurrence!

  1. Pingback: Player Two Has Entered the Game « A Nerd Occurrence

Leave a Reply

