Secret Diaries of Dr. Victor Drankenstein, Ch. 4: Carpe Noctem!

Welcome back to everyone’s favorite thing about Friday (especially mine), The Secret Diaries of Dr. Victor Drankenstein!  Now usually I just go grab something from a local mini mart the night before a new installment.  But I actually acquired this week’s drank in a truck stop gas station in the middle of nowhere almost a full week ago, so I’m even more eager than usual to get this party started.

Let me start this thing off by saying I have never seen this stuff before in my life.  It jumped right out at me, being basically the classiest looking can in its cooler.  If you’ve been paying attention in my previous installments, you’ll notice this is the only one not dressed like it’s training to be a cage fighter.  It even has a classy little polo shirt crest on there!  This one distinction aside, A:M Black Raspberry appears to be pretty similar to its urban brethren Four Loko and Joose.  It’s in a giant can and sports the state of Ohio’s legal limit of 12% ABV.  But do the similarities carry on into the flavor department?  Let’s crack this mother open and find out.

……

Okay guys, this stuff is pretty great.  Blueberry Lemonade Four Loko was up there, but this might be a new winner.  For having the same alcohol content, it tastes incredibly different.  Really sweet still, but also a little sour and not quite as syrupy.  I don’t think the alcohol flavor is nearly as noticeable as in say a Four Loko, but my girlfriend disagrees.  Take that for what you will, she is super delicate and only one of us is a certified Drank Technician.

A quick look at the informative side of the can reveals that A:M is a product of Minhas Craft Brewery in Monroe, Wisconsin.  They seem on the surface to be a pretty legit brewery containing actual craft beers, which would explain the deliciousness I’m noticing here.  But a little more research reveals that “Minhas Craft Brewery” is the latest in a series of recent acquisitions and subsequent name changes, so I’m not really able to tell who makes what where.

What I can tell is that this stuff isn’t even listed on their website.  If you look at their menu of flavored malt beverages, it looks like their entry into the 12% ABV arena of champions is branded “Axe Head”.  And Axe Head seems to come in a variety of flavors which are decidedly not black raspberry.

So I’m researching this as I’m drinking in order to bring you the most up-to-date information possible in under a 24oz time limit, and I’ve just now realized that this is some sort of team-up with A:M Vodka.  I’m not even a little ashamed to say I’ve never heard of the stuff.  The benefit of vodka being incredibly overhyped is that every liquor store has an entire aisle dedicated solely to it.  Meaning that it doesn’t get in my way while I’m procuring something that a man would drink.

Questionable ties to a girl’s drink aside, this black raspberry business is pretty great.  My only real concern at this moment is that I’m not going to be able to find it again, since it doesn’t seem to be a current product.  I picked up another can in a different flavor, called Melonball.  This may or may not survive until next Friday for a proper review.  In the meantime, do ol’ Drankenstein a favor and go try to find this stuff.  Buy it, let me know what you think, and also where you found it.  If possible, mail me some cans.  I’d be your friend!

About Ryan Searles

I like watching movies, and then talking about those movies. Sometimes I write things about them, which you should read. Other interests include boxed wine, video games, the works of Harlan Ellison and HG Wells, and being a general curmudgeon.

Posted on August 26, 2011, in SCIENCE!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

