Webcomic Wednesday: Whomp!

 

Hello once again and welcome to another installment of Webcomic Wednesday!  I’m your host an- eh?  What’s that?  You say there never has been one before?  Hey, how about you shut up and let the blogger blog?  I’ll tell you what there hasn’t been yet, and that’s a fight between 40 thousand midgets and a minotaur.  Anyway, rude interruptions aside, this is Webcomic Wednesday; where I bring you a new webcomic every week, tell you about it, and inevitably tell you why you should or should not be reading said webcomic.  Lets begin shall we?  This week a favorite of the ANO staff:  Whomp!

Whomp! (art and story by Ronnie Filyaw) was brought to my attention by one of the more Drank members of our staff, and this guy knew what he was talking about.  In the hidden bunker where all of our inner machinations take place a link was posted to this strip.  I was hooked instantly; this guy was a nerd who got nerd humor and then drew funny comics about it.

The comic itself is a standard faire, loosely based in and around reality, starring a loveable loser of a lead character, a good support cast, and antics with a nerd culture twist.  Jokes about video games, comics, cartooning, anime, and being socially awkward pepper the archives of Whomp!  The creator seems to really get his audience; I’ve been in situations almost exactly like this one a time or two, hence it made me laugh pretty good.  I’m a huge fan of self-deprecating humor, and this is chock full of it.  Even the Characters page points to the author’s admitted poking fun at himself with the main character.

I enjoy Whomp! so much because it is just a fun, quick, easy read.  There are no deeper meanings here, no long storylines to get into, and the humor is directed right towards my demographic.  Reading the entire archive of comics was fun as well; I’ve mentioned a time or two how I enjoy being able to see the development of the style over time.  You can go back to the first comic and read forward to see the art go from rough black and white to the wonderfully stylized and cartoon quality color it is now.  Did I mention I get the comic?  This was the focus of a discussion between myself and another ANO writer only too recently, then I read the comic and literally shouted “Yes!  Exactly!” at my monitor.

Go visit Whomp! and look around.  Maybe buy the guy’s book, he’s doing a heck of a job, might as well show him some love.  You can even get a sketch done.  The guy is also a fan of what I’m sure will be future Webcomic Wednesday posts, so I know he’s alright.  Ronnie, thanks for the laughs, keep up the good work.  Heck, there’s even a new Whomp! up right as I post this.

And that’s this week’s Webcomic Wednesday!  Got one you want to see?  Shameless self promotion?  Suggestions?  Feedback?  Leave it in the comments!  See ya next week.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Webcomics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

