Webcomic Wednesday: This time its a double!

 

Welcome back to another installment of Webcomic Wednesday!  Yeah yeah, I know I skipped last week.  Pipe down you vultures, sometimes I just can’t make deadlines.  Especially fake ones I set for myself.  At least I finally understand all those webcomic posts from the creators about how they “just didn’t get an update out on time”.  Will it make it up to you if I talk about TWO this week?  No?  Well too bad, I’m going to anyway.  Behold!  I give you NPC and City of Zeroes!

 

 

Let’s talk about the latter first, City of Zeroes.  I first discovered this one what feels like a lifetime ago, when I was very much addicted to City of Heroes.  It was featured on the game’s website, part of the community that NC Soft and Cryptic tried to build around their fan base.  The art wasn’t what drew me in, it was the writing.  Occasionally the comic is less about the art and more focused on the writing for me; this was one such case.  I was immediately charmed by the inside jokes, pop culture nods, and community growth around CoZ.  I’m a huge sucker for the communities that begin to pop up around the intellectual properties such as MMO’s, which City of Heroes is.  I’d nearly forgotten about CoZ in fact, but recently City of Heroes went free to play, a model gaining popularity in the MMO business after games like Dungeons and Dragons Online and Lord of the Rings Online both went free to play.  After checking out the new free version of CoH I remembered the Zeroes comic and wondered how it had fared in the interim I’d been away from the game.  Sadly City of Zeroes has been discontinued, the creator turning to other pursuits, but it was still fun to go back and reread the old story arcs.  The community in-jokes are still there, and I still get (most) of them.

 

Secondly we have NPC, a comic best described (by the NPC Facebook page) as a comic about a gamer girl and her cats, and the geek-centric blog to go with it.  I love this comic, this time both the writing and the art drew me in.  I found this one through another comic when it was posted in the comment’s section.  Being my new addiction, NPC’s tie to World of Warcraft acted at the bait that quickly got me on the hook.  Luckily the extremely likely characters, quirky themes, and incredible blog posts keep me coming back.  The creator was one of the first few people I ever even considered following on Twitter, her comments on life in New York and discussions about geek themes going into the latest games or movies in our typical sector.  The art style for NPC hasn’t changed much, but it has become more refined over time and continues to look better and better.  The easter egg comments when you mouse over the comic panels are an entertaining addition to the comic.  Unlike Zeroes, NPC is still going strong and hopefully won’t be stopping any time soon.

There we are, two more for the WW archives.  Sure one hasn’t been contemporary for two years and the other is about MMO playing cats but they’re still great examples of the community that builds itself up around a popular game or movie.  And neither of these involves going out and getting a new coat.  See ya next time.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on October 12, 2011, in MMOs, Webcomics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

