Webcomic Wednesday: Hijinks Ensue

What?  No, it isn’t late.  How dare you accuse me of such things.  It is, however; awesome.  Yes!  Once more we return to the fancy tubes of the internet for another healthy helping of Webcomic Wednesday.  The one place where FINALLY Hijinks Ensue.  BUT FOR REALS!

 

Yes yes, here we are with a webcomic called Hijinks Ensue with art and words both done by Joel Watson.  Yes I love it, yes the name has a lot to do with how I stumbled upon it, yes this week I’m saying yes a lot.  Deal with it.  Also this is one of the first webcomics I’m tossing your way without having already read the entire back log of posts.  I like this one that well right off the bat, AND I discovered it recently.  I believe it was thanks to a banner ad on LICD (how about that, advertising on the internet works!).  So how about this, I’m even going to give you wonderful inter-peoples a new format to look forward to.  Behold!  FORMATTED!

The art – The first thing anyone is going to notice about any webcomic is the art.  Is it fancy, is it stick figures, is it drawn by half blind monkeys?  Well good news, this week’s installment is well drawn.  It has a fun, cartoonish look to it that I dig.  It is reminiscent of Penny Arcade or NPC, just a good old-fashioned cartoon look.  And the look of course lends well to the type or world it exists in, a quasi hyper reality where sometimes awesome things happen.

The writing – As a writer this part is my favorite bit (I also have 0 artistic talent so double points to writing!) and probably the part I’m most critical about.  Luckily the writing here is superb.  The jokes are timely, contemporary, geeky, and genuinely funny.  So far I haven’t had to go back and look anything up in a search engine to get the joke.  Granted that’s partly because this is all my type of humor and regularly things I find relevant are discussed, but still I call it points in the comic’s favor for never straying too obscure.  The characters, being based on real people, seem like that.  They tend to respond and react in believable, if a bit exaggerated, ways.

The hook – Why I keep coming back, what will keep my around, and why I even found it interesting in the first place.  This guy addresses a lot more geek movies and TV than video games or comics thus far (though comic books do get their due diligence) and he’s a bit of a Mac (instead of a PC, not a Mac instead of a Charlie) enthusiast so the vein of nerd culture it touches on is targeted to a different set than my Penny Arcade or NPC tend to be.  I’ll keep going back because the guy is just genuinely funny.  This is well written, smart, and fun art, there isn’t anything here not to like.

I’m impressed more and more each time I do one of these at how many of these talented people are doing this as a regular job, a dream I can only sigh wistfully about.  Go check it out, show him some love.  In fact you do the same right now, show us the love!  See ya next week!

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Webcomics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

