So this thing happened to me once …

It happens every so often, an event, a happening, an occurrence, that when it happens you aren’t wholly conscious of what it is you’re going through.  Yes you do the motions, you put one foot in front of the other, you interact, but somewhere deep down you’re reeling in a kind of daze.  If you’re very fortunate during one of these times you’ll become aware of it, some kind of magical synthesizing of your surroundings dilutes into a moment of pure consciousness.  You know where you are, what you’re doing, and you wouldn’t rather be anywhere else.  These are the moments one should strive to live for.  A moment where you become more than simply another surviving person instead you realize you are a human being!  Moments such as where its past three in the morning, you’re in your apartment, drinking a delicious Newcastle, and writing about something you and a bunch of your friends did months ago.  Where you had one of those epiphanies and for just a second all you could think was:  “Yes.  This is where I want to be at this moment.”

Its no secret that 2010 wasn’t a stellar year for me, fraught with ups and downs, inundated with one of the darkest times of my entire life, but somehow in the midst of it all I managed to run aground of one guy I can’t believe it took me this long to meet.  The progenitor of this entire project, the glue that holds this rag-tag team of ruffians together, ANO’s very own Baron VonSteinHoist.  Through the most random of chances ever we ended up working together and from there I’d like to think I found the big brother I’d always needed to look up to.  And to think, the first thing I thought when I met him was “Hey, who’s this guy stealing my schtick?!  -I’m- the overweight nerd at this truck stop!”  Here we are, a year later and thanks to this guy I’ve met the best bunch of people I could imagine setting out on an endeavor of internet glory with.  Without this guy I never would have achieved nerd-vana at the height of Occurrences.  Thanks man, I’ll see ya at work (here’s hoping I didn’t just make it too awkward).

Now that you have the back story and set up lets flash forward a bit to this past summer when the Stein himself came to me and said: “Hey, Frontalot.  Cleveland.  You in?”  I was in like Flynn.  They even let me drive (they here is Mr. and Mrs. VonSteinHoist – who has her own blog now fyi)!  We made the trek out to the land of Drew Carey and Browns games and for one of the first times that night I had a flash of consciousness.
I was in Cleveland.
Here’s the thing, I grew up in places like Southern California and Las Vegas, but Cleveland was a magical TV city I’d never see ever.  It was so far out of my geographic awareness that it might have been another plane of existence all to itself.  So you might not think this was such a huge thing, but it was.  It really hit me, I was IN CLEVELAND.  The place was real, I was there, and not only that (and here’s the kick to the balls) it wasn’t much different from any other city.  Who knew?  The evening continued.

We were headed to see McFrontalot live and in concert (yes that’s redundant but I like the way it sounds.  Also build-up.  Also this was my first time and I was – and still am- excited about it.  Also shut up this is my story not yours) and nearly the entirety of the ANO crew (as it was then, we’ve since added some new voices) was getting together to see it (Sadly it was Jesse that wasn’t there) and would mark the first time I’d seen some of these guys since calling off work for a surprise party (yes I can admit to the act now, no one from work will read this, and if they do oh well it was a year ago).  I don’t remember much about the opening acts except these guys called Galactic Moustache pretty much kicked some ass (that guy on the guitar was AMAZE-BALLS) but what I do remember is when I looked up the first time and saw Front.  He looked just like he did in all the pictures and videos I’d seen of him!  How uncanny.  His stage persona was just what he was, a nerd rapper.  Uncanny?  Hell in this day and age it was downright refreshing!  Also his set was pretty rad, a handful of some of my favorite songs one after the other, a few from the new album, and some others that were much better live than they were the first time I’d ever heard them via the internet.

I think it was somewhere in the middle of “It is Pitch Dark” where it all came together.  I was having an incredible night.  I was here with a group of my favorite people in the entire world.  I was watching one of my favorite artists EVER live.  I was in a crowd full of people who were like me!  I wasn’t an outcast at all, I fit in with this crowd.
There was nowhere else in the world I’d have rather been than right there at just that minute.
Imagine my surprise when I realized what a monumental turn around 2011 had been compared to the year before.  Not only did I not want to be anywhere else BUT I WAS IN FACT THERE.  I’m still coming to terms with how mind-blowing this was.  All of this added up to me making this face:

Best. Night. EVER!

We call it Nerd Bliss.  Okay, I call it that.  You call it Jeremiah making a goofy face.  Or whatever you call it.

The show was good, of course I had no basis from previous Frontalot shows to say if it was the best or the worst, but I enjoyed every second.  I had a great time, and I can’t wait to go again.  Maybe I’ll even have some extra disposable income on hand to toss Front’s way next time.  I hope so.  I’d like to see him keep doing what he’s doing.

And from me to the entire A Nerd Occurrence staff, thanks for making me part of the group guys.  Its pretty rad from where I’m sitting.  Especially a huge thanks to Aaron, you’re a real fucking dude alright.

Lets make 2012 even better huh?  Well aside from that whole end of the world thing coming up.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Occurrences, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great story man, and glad to hear how much of a life-changing experience it all was!

  2. This was also one of my favorite nights of all time, without a doubt. Our group is the best group.

  3. Aw, that’s the bestest story every!!!

  1. Pingback: Perfect Assembly « A Nerd Occurrence

Leave a Reply

