Grand Theft Auto V: The Trailer

Last week the trailer for the latest installment in Rockstar’s acclaimed Grand Theft Auto series hit the internet, and I don’t know about you, but it kind of caught me off guard.  You can probably blame the fact that we’re in the midst of arguably the best two months of console game releases of all time, but I for one wasn’t even thinking about the possibility of a new GTA game, let alone that it might be so close.

Even though it’s a cinematic trailer and we’re not seeing any gameplay yet, I feel comfortable saying that so far this game looks absolutely gorgeous.  GTA IV was obviously a huge step up from the last console generation’s installments, and I’m kind of impressed with how much it looks like they’ve raised the bar yet again.  I’m also immediately happy with the decision to set the game in Los Santos, Rockstar’s fictional Los Angeles analog last seen in GTA: San Andreas.  That title was so far my undisputed favorite in the franchise.  Not to mention that Techland’s Dead Island, one of my favorite games of 2011, has instilled me with a strong need for more open-world carnage in a sunny vacation setting.

My only real concern is that I’m getting kind of a “reluctant anti-hero” vibe from the narration.  It’s obviously way too early to know if this concern is valid or not, but I can’t deny the fact that it’s there.  GTA IV put gamers in the shoes of Eastern European war vet and reluctant criminal Niko Bellic, whose sympathetic and soul-searching dialog often presented a stark and immersion-shattering contrast to the series’ trademark casually violent gameplay.  This new trailer highlights the main character’s desire to “be a good guy for once…a family man” and to let his kids “be like the kids on TV”.  I’m not sure what it’s going to be like controlling this “World’s Best Dad 2012” hopeful in an environment where you accidentally kill someone every time you put your car in reverse, but I’m guessing “awkward” might be the answer.

As a side note, I’m interested and amused by the fact that even Rockstar Games has apparently given up hope regarding the educational standards of our era.  I can’t recall ever in my life seeing a roman numeral in a title overlaid with a helpful caption like this.  I would say that it’s ridiculous and unnecessary had I not personally been witness to someone referring to the last installment as “Grand Theft Auto Ivy”.

About Ryan Searles

I like watching movies, and then talking about those movies. Sometimes I write things about them, which you should read. Other interests include boxed wine, video games, the works of Harlan Ellison and HG Wells, and being a general curmudgeon.

Posted on November 7, 2011, in First Look, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

