Film Distributor Wanted

I came across this gem a few weeks back between the time I published my Buffy article and when I did my Dollhouse article. I got an instant boner when I heard about it but between school, work, and an internship I hadn’t had time to post about it. I now have the time and I still have the boner. Instead of a 20th anniversary vacation, Joss Whedon and his wife Kai Cole decided to adapt Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing under their Bellwether Pictures banner. They filmed it in 12 days.

It’s hard for me to say anything about this other than that I’m excited. I am a slave to the Whedonverse and this makes me giddy because Whedon hired actors that I know and love from his previous works. Amy Acker and Alexis Denisof play Beatrice and Benedick. Both actors worked together on Angel (mehhhhh) and Dollhouse while Denisof also appeared on Buffy. Other notable Whedonverse cast members include Dollhouse alums Reed Diamond (Laurence Dominic), Ashley Johnson (Wendy/Caroline but you may know her best as the little girl from Growing Pains), and Fran Kranz (Topher). Firefly is represented by Nathan Fillion (Malcolm Reynolds) and Sean Maher (Simon Tam). I am especially pumped that we get to see Tom motherfuckin’ Lenk in this! Who didn’t love Andrew from Buffy?! He was the comic relief in those season 7 filler episodes. Clark Gregg is also in this. You may know him as Agent Coulson from the films centering around the Marvel Avengers universe.

Bellwether is shopping around for a distributor and I sure as hell hope this gets picked up. I just know this will be awesome. Please. Somebody. Anybody. I’ve got the Whedon Signal mounted to the roof and I’m pointing it to the sky.

About Christine Pyles

I have an unhealthy obsession with Prince, The Artist, The Purple One. You know who I'm talkin' 'bout. I have a shaved head and I like being dudes with hair for Halloween. My nerd claim to fame is my love of Thor, The Wire, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and that I am the human version of C-3PO. Follow me on Twitter - @XineSoundclash. I'm real funny.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in First Look, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

