Webcomic Wednesday: Manly Guys Doing Manly Things

 

Yeah yeah.  I can hear it already.  “But you skipped last week!  Blah blah blah…”  How about you just hush huh?  I couldn’t come up with anything good, it all felt forced, so I gave up, hung out with some good people I know, and took the week off.  Deal.  Or do you look forward to these things?  YOU DO!?  Are you … ill?  Not that these aren’t all brilliant endeavors into the internet’s less traveled but well-loved tubes.  In fact this is probably the best thing you’ll read all week.  Unless I wrote other things.  Which I did THANK YOU VERY MUCH.  Hold on, I got sidetracked.  Anyway I give you MANLY GUYS DOING MANLY THINGS!  Ha, its a real comic so there.

 

Normally I give you a quick story of how I found the week’s choice.  But honestly I can’t remember exactly how I stumbled across this one.  I’m sure it had to do with pokemon somehow.  No I don’t know why that would be the reason.  Look, I found it, and its funny.  Deal with it.  And it is funny, more so than the premise probably deserves.  Written and drawn by Kelly Turnbull the comic consists of the entire testosterone fueled gamer-lead coalition from Duke Nukem to Kratos.  Hell even that dude from Dragon Age is here.  Basically you take all the male leads from popular video games, movies, comics, and TV then put them together in some kind of halfway house for them to try to rehabilitate to normal society after they’ve been the perpetrators (or victims) of some of the most horrifying events to ever unfold.  Somehow this is pure comic gold.

The art – Once again the first thing the eye sees here is some well done and incredible art.  The iconic characters poked fun at in the series are instantly recognizable, so easily that naming them in the comic isn’t even always required, you just see them and KNOW who it is.  The art is also good at the occasional hyper reality scene, when one of the manly men does something truly manly or there happens to be a giant dragon-snake-fish-thing eating people and animals.  It also kind of feels like one of my favorite cartoons from Adult Swim, Venture Brothers, which means it is also slightly reminiscent of old school Johnny Quest.

The writing – The jokes are typically well built up, the comic isn’t any sort of set length so there’s no three panel beat or fast set up to worry about.  The joke takes as long as it takes and typically the pay off is totally worth it.  Also written very tongue in cheek you have to take a lot of it as what it is, ultimate machismo and ridiculous posturing on the parts of the various manly men.  The occasional glimpses into something a bit more than just jokes, actual back story and character development (GASP!) are also woven into the panels very well.  In fact the little I know about the Commander (our main character…kind of?) only intrigues me more and drives me to find out all I can about him.  I want to read on to see if I can learn anything new.

The hook – Gay chicken with Kratos!  No seriously (that ended anyway) its the humor.  I still remember when these movies were done in a completely serious context, no sarcasm or irony involved.  In some ways I miss those days (in others I realise I’m clearly insane) and the comic is one way to remember and even somewhat relive them.  The blog below the actual strip also has material that keeps me coming back, the comic updates on Mondays but occasionally the blog has new stuff in it to check out all week long.  The fans and community that have built up around the comic are frequently highlighted in the blog and we all know I’m a huge fan of the online communities that pop up.

I picked this one on a whim, it wasn’t even in my bookmarks (it is now) so it’d slipped off my radar.  Then shortly after beginning this weekly column I made a joke taken right out of one of the early ones and stopped myself, oh course I’d have to talk about this one!  It isn’t overly offensive, certainly not set up to just shock like some, and can pretty much be read safely in any company.  The most important part is that it is always funny.  Now, if I ever stop having to work on Wednesdays maybe this will end up being posted at a normal time instead of either early or way late.  Regardless, catch ya next time.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

