Excitement Factor Nine

Alright, not gonna lie about this one, but I totally had a full-on nerdgasm when I heard this. I’m saying new pants were called for; yes people I was that excited. I’m talking about the news that one of my favorite writers is returning to comics (FINALLY! Its only been what feels like ALL TIME EVER) to pen another original narrative. Oh man, I can’t wait to tell you guys about this. Just kidding, I can. See, this is called a teaser. The build up! Alright, I actually -can’t- wait to tell you. Brian K. Vaughan returns to comics with Saga, an all new original title due out March 14th. Seriously if that alone isn’t enough to get you a little excited get the hell off my website. For the rest of you, let’s hop below.

Oh Brian K. Vaughan, how I love thee (did you know he was one of the writers on Lost? Boom – roasted). I’ve been a huge fan of his work (albeit I wasn’t really completely AWARE of him until later) since the days of Ultimate X-Men (the first comic book I remember reading that he wrote). His writing is always amazing, people talk like people, and his stories always have layers of depth to them beyond what you might expect. It was his work on Y: The Last Man (one of my top comics of the last five years!) that solidified my love for him, and Ex Machina kept me hooked page after politically charged page. Those were two incredible original stories down for me, two full narrative arcs of his that I’d not just read but vehemently consumed (hell with Y: The Last Man I couldn’t wait for the last trade, I had to buy them all in single issue form. I NEEDED to know what happened THAT BAD). I was ready for more. I vowed that for Vaughan’s next project I was going to be on board from issue one, I wasn’t missing anything. The only problem – he didn’t write anything. For what seemed a very long time.

The wait was maddening, but finally I heard about the new story (granted the news was first released in December, I just didn’t hear about it for a while. What do you want from me?) coming out in March and I was instantly curious. Avoiding spoilers as much as I could I went to learn a bit more. Here’s what I discovered. The story is best described as “Star Wars” meets “A Game of Thrones” (who else just had a moment of nerd-vana? I did) and art by super talented Fiona Staples (go check her out, she’s rad!). The narrative is told from the point of view of the baby born in the first issue, leaving it as anyone’s guess how old the narrator is, when and if we’ll catch up to current time, and just what’s prompted this trip down memory lane. Inspired by Vaughan’s own sojourn into fatherhood this is a tale about parents raising a kid amidst hardship, war, social and political upheaval, and as a mixed race family (damn that’s topical and relevant to current affairs ain’t it?). The story will span multiple worlds, feature wonderful art, be written by and for adults, and will ultimately combine fantasy and sci-fi for a unique and original tale from one of the true masters. I haven’t bought a new comic in months, but this will be coming into my hands fresh, hot, and ready each and every month.

The book is already generating a bit of controversy as well; the image put out as a poster/teaser for the first issue has the female lead breast-feeding (yes the one at the top there). You don’t see anything lewd, just a curve of skin and a baby’s head. Just goes to show some people will get mad about anything. Before you ask, no it doesn’t offend me, and no I won’t be letting my son read it. Not because a woman does something natural, but because of all the depictions of violence and the use of strong language. That’s called not being a stupid parent for those of you wondering. And hey, if you don’t like the book, Vaughan said he’ll pay you back the $2.99 for the 44 page first edition (for those not in the know that is WAY cheap for that amount of pages, also did I mention ad free?). So all of you hit up your LCBS (local comic book store) and make sure you order your copy of Saga #1 – out March 14th. I think I might even get two.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Comics, Fantasy, First Look, Occurrences, Sci Fi, Star Wars. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

