A Bit About Ideas

What a good month this has been to be a nerd; specifically this one. We’ve had the biggest movie ever come our way (and I loved it), we had Free Comic Book Day, and I finally got my hands on a copy of Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ Saga #1 (seriously, third printing, turns out the book is kinda popular). How did I feel about this book you may ask (seriously go ahead and ask, it’ll make the part where I tell you seem more natural), well I don’t want to give away the entire review but I’ve read it three times now in two days. To put that in perspective I don’t even read Walking Dead a second time (well, usually), and that is probably my top comic running right now (well, after Saga it’ll probably drop to the second spot). Enough lead in, let’s get to the meat of this here tasty meal.

I’ve read a lot of issue #1’s in my time; especially in the last year or so with DC’s New 52 relaunch (sadly I just wasn’t a fan). Occasionally I’ll have one of these new titles really stick out and catch my attention (Walking Dead was one such book, Brian Wood’s DMZ however took an entire arc to really grab me). Saga had me hooked at page one, seriously the first page sold me (hell I wouldn’t mind having a print of it on a wall somewhere – perhaps sans word bubbles though), and I guess it isn’t really a huge surprise the last comic to grab me this hard from issue one was Y: The Last Man. Vaughan is just one of those guys I will always enjoy reading. So the writing is superb, just to make sure you understand that, but the art somehow makes it all even better! Fiona Staples has managed to draw me a universe that feels tangible, lived in, and full of a rich history. You can feel the pages breathing as you turn them, this universe is very much alive. This team-up is about as perfect as Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon were on Preacher, the two just compliment each other so well that the book wouldn’t be as good with anyone else taking either role. Even the lettering is top-notch (done by Steven Finch) and adds to the overall A+ quality of the book.

This splash page made me pause a moment.

So mechanically the book is amazing, but the real clincher is the soul of the book. If you’d told the Star Wars loving child I was in third grade that sci-fi would grow up with me and evolve as my tastes did the same I’d have had no idea what you were talking about, nor would I have believed you. Yet here it is, growing and graduating from Star Wars to Blade Runner I first realized that sci-fi wasn’t just a kids fancy, this genre had potential. Now here, at almost 30, I find the sci-fi story to reflect the man I’ve grown into, and it is in every way an almost perfect tale. This has everything I’d want from my space faring romps: robots, lasers, a galaxy at war, a rich history you can feel waiting at the edges, and even a hint of magic. Yeah, someone took my sci-fi and coated it in a sweet tangy glaze of epic fantasy; kind of like if Wheel of Time and Battlestar Galactica had a kid together. Oh, and if anyone is still trying to tell you comic books are for kids go ahead and slap them across the mouth with this book (you bring a copy though, I’m quite fond of mine); this is an adult tale for grown ups who still think space is a frontier waiting to be explored. There is violence, child-birth, naked robots having sex, war, and the occasional bit of language; so be forewarned if you aren’t okay with reality.

How I got lucky enough to get the comic book movie AND the sci-fi tale I’ve always dreamed of in so short a span of time is up to anyone to guess but I’m not going to complain. Maybe I’m stuck in some wonderful dream world where awesome things happen to nerds. As with most BKV stories I really have no clue where this story is going but I know I’m willingly along for the ride. This is an idea come real thanks to many efforts and I for one am happy to have a chance to be a part of this family at the beginning; after all not everybody does.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on May 12, 2012, in Comics, First Look, Reviews, Sci Fi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

