Here Come the Men in Black … Again

I think I can be forgiven for letting a movie like Men in Black 3 slip through my otherwise tight nerd screening net; I mean hey we all saw the second one right?  Regardless my lack in diligence about keeping up with the secret government organizations that patrol and monitor alien activity on Earth I did manage to make it to a theater and see it.  I gotta say, I was pleasantly surprised.  I suppose this little bit of sci-fi comic nerdery will have to hold me over until I get to slide my eyeballs all up and down Promethus’ sexy self later.  In the interim, let us sit down and have a bit of a chat about MIB3 and what made it not terrible.

 

First and foremost how about that Josh Brolin guy huh?  Who would have thought he’d not only have amazing on-screen chemistry with Will Smith but he’d also somehow channel Tommy Lee Jones as perfectly as Karl Urban once embodied DeForest Kelley.  He was a brilliant young Agent K, from mannerisms to the way he smooth talks his way through every scene.  My only regret is now they can’t use him for other future MIB flicks (yeah, this movie actually left me wanting more unlike the last one which just left me wanting my time back).  Well I suppose if they make another one they can possibly convolute a way to get young Agent K back who knows.  As for the rest of the star power Emma Thompson makes a satisfying replacement for Rip Torn’s Zed (truth be told I still missed Zed) and Jemaine Clement was one wonderfully comic book-ish style villain.  Boris the Animal was a fun villain, he wasn’t terrifying or ominous (this was no Heath Ledger’s Joker or Phillip Seymor Hoffman’s Davian) but he was entertaining all the way through, and his ultimate evil plan was doomsday enough to make him a real threat.  Of course I have to make note of Bill Hader’s wonderful character portrayal of Andy Warhol, and Michael Stuhlbarg as the infinitely adorable Griffin.

 

The story this time around was better written by far than the last one.  No weird list of puzzles and clues for the agent’s to follow, it was a clear-cut bad guy has an evil plot and he needs stopped situation.  Also this time there was no awkward Agent J is still a new guy moments; this was a huge point in the film’s favor – it was about time for Smith to get to act like the alien stomping bad ass he was supposed to be all along.  Once the plot really solidifies and Agent J has to take the reins to save the day the film picks up speed, and the sci-fi tech and gadgets make another wonderful appearance.  The obvious plot development I kept waiting for never actually came like I expected it to (huge nod to the writers for the Copperfield level of misdirection there), but what does take place doesn’t diminish the impact or significance of the story.  Despite the lack of my favorite Pug (he makes a quick cameo via framed photo) the aliens and black suit wearing agents made for a fun and enjoyable movie.

 

Remember the first Men in Black?  Remember how much fun it was to just watch Will Smith fighting aliens and shooting laser guns?  Well a lot of that is back; as is the sense of humor from the first one.  The movie isn’t better than the first by any means (that magic may never be tapped again, sadly) but it is worlds away from the train wreck MIB2 was.  This is one of those wonderful summer popcorn flicks; a movie designed to be fun and entertaining and take you away from the worries and troubles of your normal day-to-day.  Is it something that needs to be seen on the big screen?  No, but if you can find yourself a copy on Blu-ray in a few months it is an absolutely good choice to buy.

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on June 8, 2012, in Comics, Movies, Reviews, Sci Fi and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

