I’m back … from outer space

I couldn’t resist the title.  I apologize.

Bear with me here. I know this has got to be an old topic for most of you. I mean the game is already over six months old. Plus this is for DLC. DLC that came out like what, two weeks ago? I know. I’m living in the past man! Well, listen here you future folk, I got something to say and you’ll hear it. Tonight we talk all about how awesome Mass Effect 3: Leviathan really is.

You guys remember all that awesome story telling in Mass Effect 2? Or those way intense fire fights in confined spaces? Well they’re back! I’m a sucker for all things ME, so picking up a DLC story pack is a no brainer. More ME story, more time in that wonderful galaxy I’d love to call home? Yes please! Imagine my delight when the new content was not only worth playing but actually makes the original ME3 better!

Stay with me here, and be warned from here on out there will be mild spoilers (granted for a game that’s already done and over calling them spoilers seems kinda silly). Leviathan opens up with a fairly simple go talk to a guy mission. Some of the best dialogue, renegade/paragon options, and cut scenes then unfold as you piece together an eons old, galaxy spanning conspiracy. There are ground missions where you fight things (mostly Reapers – look forward to more Banshees!) and look for clues, then if you’ve collected enough of the right clues you narrow down where the next planet might be. The DLC doesn’t add anything revolutionary to the game, its the same combat, the same enemies, the same abilities. It does add a new underwater mech, which could be fun to see explored further in another game. It also adds some of the first real paragon/renegade options I can remember from 3. Sure there were a few points in the main story that had it (diving after Tali was one, but really who wouldn’t have done that?), but this one really seemed to grasp what the two halves meant for Shepard (I played through it on my male renegade first and it felt like the Shepard from 2 was back).

Why get it? Because its some damn good story. The best DLC they’ve offered since Shadow Broker, and I can’t imagine playing 2 without that in it anymore. I can see where Leviathan would fit naturally into the narrative as well (in my head this is perfect to take place while you’re waiting for Mordin to synthesize a cure for the Genophage), it doesn’t negate anything that happens later and doesn’t assume the player has done anything before (aside from escape Earth I suppose). There is also the most amazing bit of dialogue between Shepard and Leviathan that not only helped to clarify the slightly deus ex machina ending, the origins of the Reapers, and the cycles, it also once more helps give a sense of impending doom – CAN the Reapers ever be stopped? Oh and yes, Leviathan is a thing; what that thing is though I won’t say (sentient AI? Ship? Weapon? Giant space whale? Yet another big build up only to disappoint? You’ll have to find out).

Is that reason enough to pick it up; a good story? I say it is, story should always be central to the game. You can forgive difficulty curves, bugs, patches, terrible controls, and a lot more but a bad story will ALWAYS stand out (I’m looking at YOU Catherine. Fun puzzle mechanic meets the most inane story every wrote). For the ME fans (like myself) the DLC is a must have; you won’t be disappointed. For sci-fi fans and action rpg/shooter fans yeah pick it up, you’ll find something here to enjoy. Of course you can always wait a few more months and then it’ll be up there for half off, along with the Omega DLC that I can’t wait to play (seriously if the writing and game play stay this level of quality it’ll stand a chance to be BETTER than Shadow Broker). But ya know what, I’m happy to pay to see more quality DLC come down the pipeline later. Thanks, Devs (no, seriously)!

About Jeremiah Cochran

The last minute addition to the party that really brings it all together. Let's face it how else could you get past that Balrog without your Gandalf? (Yes I just compared myself to Gandalf, deal) A fan of comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, rolling dice, and tapping cards. Essentially he's the nerd renaissance man. Also he can cook. And do laundry (sort of).

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Mass Effect, Reviews, Sci Fi, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great review. As a non-PC gamer, apologies there, DLC seems to me like the occasional good idea at best, but more like an excuse to make more cash. I’m sure Mass Effect fans that aren’t quite trigger happy with new DLC will appreciate knowing that this is a good pack to go with, especially since it contributes positively to the story.

  2. Thanks for the kind words! I know the slightly slippery slope that is DLC all too well. I didn’t come right out and say it but I suppose I could have; this is exactly what you should expect from DLC. A fun, engaging extra bit of narrative that doesn’t add anything essential to the main story but instead only enhances what was already there.

    Hopefully people who lost a little bit of trust in Bioware this last year can look at this as a sign that the company that made sci-fi so good is still there.

    • Well, it almost seems like DLC is like a Choose-Your-Own-Adventure, only instead of “back to start!”, it’s “I paid money for this?” Also, some companies recover better from mistakes than others.

Leave a Reply

