Flea Market Fun: M.U.S.C.L.E. in My Pocket


I haven’t written anything for a while, so I thought I’d get back into the swing of things with a flea market find. I hit my local flea market last month, which snuck in before the region was blanketed with a beautiful white layer of what the local news referred to as “heart attack snow”. So the place was fairly busy for December, with more things to see than I expected.

Angry Wars Birds

The highlight of this day for me turned out to be the first thing I found: a surprisingly cheap Android tablet, but that’s not fun to write about. The most interesting find was a bunch of minifigures.

Bowl of minifigures
I happened upon a metal bowl full of small toys with no price, and noticed some M.U.S.C.L.E. guys right away. I never find M.U.S.C.L.E. figures, and the few times I have they were pretty expensive by flea market standards. So I was happy to see some, as well as what I assumed were Monster in My Pocket, which I am largely unfamiliar with. I grabbed one of the M.U.S.C.L.E. guys and asked how much they were. The seller said he was looking to sell them all together. (Not a problem for me, that’s what I was hoping for anyway.) He said $1. I then had a dollar in my hand faster than the human eye could perceive it.

#63 Purple#96 Flesh#117 Flesh#214 Salmon#216 Magenta

So the M.U.S.C.L.E. figures were my main interest here. I didn’t already have any of these, as far as I can remember. Plus I think this is my first time finding a salmon colored one. (Too bad one of them had a bit of an issue with biting his fingernails.) So that’s pretty nice for $1.

Monsters in My Pocket

Next up are the Monster in My Pocket figures. I was aware of these things in the early 90s, or at least the NES game, but I never owned any. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any before, but now I have 11. While verifying that they were in fact MiMP, I found that the line was revived a couple of times in the UK, and spawned a number of other “[X] in My Pocket” lines. Huh.

Purple pull-back PINGAS pen car

There were a few other things in there too, like this not at all phallic car. It’s a pull-back car that’s also a pen, but it’s missing the part that makes it a pen, so it’s just a penis car instead of a pen car and I’m just going to throw it away.

Dinosaur (and not quite dinosaur) minifigures

You can’t have 80s / early 90s minifigures without dinosaurs and things that are kind like dinosaurs but not quite, right? Right. The highlight of these would be the big glow-in-the-dark-not-quite-a-triceratops thing. (Centrosaurus? Utahceratops?) Unfortunately, it has the weakest glow I’ve ever seen.

Misc minis

Not fitting into any other category are a Woody, safari Garfield, a cougar, some weird rubber alligator thing, a furry McDonald’s… thing, a broken airplane, and a pink ant, which may or may not be an eraser.

The Fly, Honey I Shrunk the Kids, TMNT: Arcade Attack

After this I found a box of DVDs for $1 each, from which I grabbed Honey I Shrunk the Kids, The Fly + The Fly 2, and a complete copy of TMNT Arcade Attack for the DS. Well, maybe I didn’t look at it as closely as I should have…

ATV Thunder Ridge Riders / Monster Trucks Mayhem

Shit.

About Collector

A frequent visitor to flea markets and the Goodwill, I enjoy collecting video games, toys and old electronics. Other interests include cartoons, sci-fi, fantasy, and horror movies, as well as wasting far too much time online.

Posted on January 26, 2013, in Occurrences, Toys, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ooh, excellent minifigure haul. You actually did way better on the Monster in my Pocket figures than the MUSCLES. That Ganesha figure is harder to come by than most of the line, because India got upset about their gods being used in a toyline about monsters, so that one had a shorter production run than the rest. They all look in nice shape too.

    Does that rubber ant have any sort of trademark stamp on it anywhere?

    • Oh, neat. I read about a few of them being discontinued for reasons like that, but I didn’t bother trying to identify which ones I had. According to the MIMP Wiki, this orange one was exclusive to a Spaghetti O’s promotion.

      The ant says (c) 1995 APII. I guess that means Action Products International, Inc.

  1. Pingback: Monster in My Pocket | Totally 90s

Leave a Reply

